Home   Curriculum   Mathematics



Key Stages 1 and 2 follow the National Curriculum 2014.

There is a daily mathematics lesson which includes a mental/oral starter to practise key skills.

The six main areas of learning are:

  • place value
  • calculations
  • fractions, decimals and percentages
  • measurement
  • geometry – property of shape
  • statistics

After children have acquired skills, there is an emphasis on applying the skills within different contexts including problem solving and investigative work.

In Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 there is a more practical approach to all aspects of mathematics and children are encouraged to use a variety of apparatus in their work to embed understanding.

Year 2 to Year 6 are given the opportunity every day to practise maths skills across the curriculum using a bespoke, highly differentiated programme called ‘I Can Do’.

Maths Curriculum